The Social Justice School Team

We seek to build an intentional community and foster the passions of our students. Our model blends rigorous academics with community-centered project based learning and liberatory design thinking. Our team is rooted in Washington, D.C., and our staff will continue to grow this year. 


Myron Long (left)

Executive Director and Founder

Myron Long is a native Washingtonian, a graduate of DC Public Schools, and a veteran D.C. teacher and principal, most recently at the E.L. Haynes Public Charter School. He graduated from Morgan State University in Maryland with dual degrees in philosophy and political science and received his master’s degree in philosophy with a concentration in social policy from American University. At every stage of his career, Long has brought a commitment to social justice into his educational practice. He is a NewSchools Venture Fund grantee and a Camelback Ventures Fellow, an inaugural Expeditionary Learning School Design Fellow as well as a 4.0 Schools Fellow.

Brandon Johnson (right)

Founding Principal

Brandon Johnson began his career in education with the Cleveland Metropolitan School District where he served at an alternative high school. In his tenure there, he worked as one of the school’s community based social workers. In conjunction with working full time, Brandon Johnson attended graduate school at Case Western Reserve University where he obtained his masters in nonprofit management and community and social development. After completing his masters, Brandon Johnson was accepted into the Urban Teacher Residency Program in 2011 where he began his career as a 3-grade math and science educator. Upon completing the program, he received two additional masters degrees in elementary and special education. As an educator, Mr. Johnson partook in many fellowships and leadership positions such as Education Innovation Fellowship, Teachers Central to Leadership Fellowship, the Chancellor’s Cabinet, District of Columbia Public School Teacher Selection Ambassador, Department Chair and Grade Level Lead. In his current role, he leads the elementary and middle school math efforts to create, implement and monitor the school-wide math initiatives and goals. Furthermore, he works exclusively on the schools blended learning program as an Education Innovation Fellow Alum.